A Message from Kirk Cameron to Pastors at the SBC Annual Meeting

Last Tuesday, June 12th, at the Southern Baptist Convention annual meeting in San Antonio, Texas, Todd Friel of The Way of the Master Radio was at the FamilyNet Radio booth from 2 to 4 PM (Central Time). Sadly, I was not aware of this until the next day. (This is one example of why, if you attend the SBC annual meeting next year in Indianapolis, you should pay careful attention to the daily bulletin.)
While Friel was there, one segment of the program was dedicated to playing a pre-recorded message from Kirk Cameron, which was aimed to admonish SBC pastors to biblical fidelity in preaching the Gospel. The message was as follows:

Can I speak to you from my heart for a moment? I realize that, theologically, I’m not worthy to wash your socks. But imagine this scenario with me, if you will: Imagine I’m a “seeker”- I’m a non-Christian, sitting in your church week after week after week listening to you. Am I ever going to hear the message that will save my soul from Hell? Will you ever tell me the truth clearly enough so that I realize that my sin has made me an enemy of God: that I am currently on the path that leads to destruction, with the wrath of God dwelling upon me, and that unless I repent and put my faith in the Savior, I will perish? Or have you decided that it’s better to simply entertain me, and on Sundays I can come to have my “felt needs” met with good music and good advice? Pastor, while I would appreciate that, it’s the ultimate betrayal of my trust in you if you don’t tell me the truth. Will I ever hear the words “repent,” “surrender,” “turn to the Savior,” “be born again”? If you don’t tell me those things, how will I ever know to do it?Please don’t leave it up to the Wednesday night small-group leader. They’re taking their cues from you. You’re leading the flock.

And now I speak to you as a Christian. If you and I fail to teach the whole counsel of God, and we don’t warn sinners to flee from the wrath to come, and run to the love of Christ on the Cross to save their soul, we make a terrible mistake. It doesn’t matter how happy a person is- how much a sinner is enjoying the pleasures of sin for a season- without the righteousness of Christ, he’ll perish on the Day of Judgment. The Bible says, “Riches profit not on the Day of Wrath, but righteousness delivers from death.” You see, that’s how Kirk Cameron realized he needed a Savior. I had riches, but I knew that it was the righteousness of God that I needed in order to be saved from my sin.

Even more than the lecture by Voddie Baucham, which I outlined in a previous post, I wish every Southern Baptist pastor would hear Kirk Cameron’s message.

Explore posts in the same categories: Southern Baptist Convention

10 Comments on “A Message from Kirk Cameron to Pastors at the SBC Annual Meeting”

  1. Rhett Kelley Says:

    “I wish every Southern Baptist pastor would hear Kirk Cameron’s message.”

    Amen to that.

  2. WW Says:

    I have a different take on this. Of the SBC churches I have visited lately, it is the salvation sermon that is preached over and over and over. I can only imagine how little these congregations are growing because they hear Sunday and Sunday “repent,” “surrender,” “turn to the Savior,” “be born again”? How much more would these congregations be growing spiritually with an expository sermon Sunday after Sunday?


  3. Rhett:
    Thanks for the comment!

    WW:
    I understand your concern. Many SBC preachers do seem to have one sermon that they preach over and over, using different texts to get to that sermon. Cameron does address, however, a growing danger in SBC churches- that of the ‘seeker-sensitive’ movement. Actually, I think that giving a Gospel call in each sermon is not inconsistent with expositional preaching. Based on the Christ-centered nature of Scripture that I highlighted in my recent post on Ed Stetzer’s sermon, I think that a preacher has not fully preached a text until he has shown what we learn of Christ in that text and has called for his congregation to live in submission to Him. The problem comes when preachers ignore the context and thus miss the rich details different passages give to enhance our knowledge of the Lord, presenting each passage as a mere theme to say only what every regular attendee already knows.

  4. Gautreau Says:

    I agree with just about all he had to say except, of course, “I’m a seeker” part. There are no seekers. I would also say that he needs to leave the puclic debates up to those who can handle them.

  5. Luke Britt Says:

    I find that comments like “they preach the gospel too much” are pretty silly.

    Of the gospel (justification, specifically) Martin Luther said, “This is the truth of the gospel. It is also the principal article of all Christian doctrine, whereby the knowledge of all goodness consisteth. Most necessary it is therefore, that we should know this article well, teach it to others and beat it into their heads continually.”

    I say that we Baptists heed his observation. Our people need the gospel more than they need anything, and we as preachers of the word must surely notice that all of the Scriptures point to Christ and his gospel.

    Preach redemption, brothers.

  6. Gordan Says:

    I read somewhere the story of a Puritan pastor whose congregation lovingly presented him with a plague to fasten to the pulpit, so that he would see it each Sunday before he opened the Word.

    It said, “Sir, We would see Jesus.”

    We need christological preaching.

    But there’s a difference between always preaching Christ and His Gospel, and every Sunday delivering a pablum-laden, tear-filled “come to Jesus” plea.

  7. Gordan Says:

    “PLAQUE” not “PLAGUE.”

    Surely no Freudian slip there.


  8. Gautreau: We certainly agree that there are no “seekers” – Romans 3 makes that pretty clear. But I don’t think Kirk Cameron was disagreeing with that idea. I think he was simply using the terminology of those he was trying to reach, and I don’t see as how he has compromised the Biblical position at all. I have listened to quite a few Way of the Master programs and I think I can safely say that he’s no friend of the “seeker sensitive” mindset. Every one of them presents hard-hitting confrontation of sin in the so-called “seeker’s” life.

    Also, what was wrong with what he said, that he should leave “[public] debates up to those who can handle them”? I think he said it very well, and very humbly, too. Oh, that we all (I’m including myself here) would be so humble!

  9. Jean C Says:

    What needed words! What I have experienced is the “come to Jesus” plea with the positive seeker spin on it. i.e., come to Jesus and you won’t have to worry. Come to Jesus and life will be grand. Come to Jesus and you will get over depression. Etc., Very little of Come to Jesus because you are a sinner alienated from God by your sin and utterly incapable of saving yourself. Very little of as a sinner, you are deserving of Hell for transgressing against a Holy and Sovereign God. Just “God loves you and has a wonderful plan for your life.”

    Such a gospel is a half-gospel; and, where the gospel is preached, it should be preached in full.

  10. Objessecefe Says:

    Hello.
    I look site aboutcapents


Leave a Reply

